Review of Something Like Fate

 

You can obviously tell what this book is about from the cover. I picked up this book because its Susane Colasanti. The first time I saw this book was like 3 years ago and I didn’t know at that time who she was and it didn’t interest me at that time.So when I learned about her last year I was more interested in the book. I also thought the cover was a little surprising do to the fact that all her books aren’t based on this topic of a girl going out with her best friends boyfriend. So when I learned that she wrote this well I was excited but it was surprisingly bad.

Characters

I kind of liked Blake. But I found that he acted kind of girly and weird do to the fact that he is gay. I just didn’t like how he acted sometimes because not all gay guys act like that but I guess the majority do.

Lani’s character to me was okay but I sometimes didn’t like her and she was sometimes too stubborn and I just didn’t get her at all! I did like that she liked all those things but sometimes I just didn’t like her.

Jason was a flat character. He had pretty much NO personality. Whatsoever. I couldn’t connect with him at all, and I really don’t get what exactly makes him and Lani “soul mates”.

The soul mate part I guess was okay but I wont say anymore because then I would end up saying basically the whole book.

Overall, it was an okay book and sometimes it was an enjoyable book. The one thing I did like about it was the fate aspect of it and the whole astrology thing(that’s Susane’s style). Lani and her “best” friend Erin are obsessed with fate, and I really liked that, because you don’t really see that type of thing in many books. But I didn’t really agree with the physic reading. I know a lot of people like that but I don’t agree with that and those are my beliefs.

I was disappointed with this book. I didn’t really like it.And I was surprised because she writes really good but this book just wasn’t what I was expecting.

See it in : http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/11014315-audrey-hepburn

5 thoughts on “Review of Something Like Fate

  1. I think that only a few authors are able to pull off this kind of story. I generally stay away from books like this. I might try it out if I am feeling up to it though…
    I am guessing that Blake is a stereotype then… I have met a couple of people who are gay and they are nothing like the stereotype. So, I don’t think most gay people act like that…although the stereotypes in books and other things will cause that idea.

    Like

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

