Review of Just Listen

Title: Just Listen

Author: Sarah Dessen

Main Characters: Annabel Greene, Owen Armstrong, Whitney Greene

Just Listen was a hard book to get from the library because of all the holds it had. When I finally got it my reaction was just being happy.I have read all the Sarah Dessen books and up until now THE TRUTH ABOUT FOREVER was my favorite book but now I changed my mind. This book was beyond words. Its just beautiful and of course it had a meaning like the rest of her books. I thought it meant that not everybody has the perfect life that it looks like they have. That you should just listen instead of judging or thinking: just listen.Meet Annabel Greene. Everybody thinks her life is easy and perfect because she is a model who has been in local ads, commercials and fashion shows in her local mall. She is popular at school even if its because of her best friend Sophie who demands attention everywhere she goes. Her father designed them a house made out of glass, her mother lives for her modeling, she has two older sisters Kirsten and Whitney, who are both former models too.But behind all of that Annabel’s life isn’t as perfect as it seems. At the end of the school year she was the one who suffered from something so horrible that she’s lost not only her best friend, but her self-respect. Her family is mostly worried about Whitney’s eating disorder, with Kirsten’s college life so far away in New York, with keeping everything all under control that Annabel hasn’t even told them what has happened- the things that still happen to her at school. She is worried that she might add more concern to her parents mind that she starts lying to them and avoids telling them the truth.

The here comes the best part: She meets Owen Armstrong. A dark, tall guy- who always is listening to music on his IPod, that she once saw punch a guy and then just walk away calmly. Owen is a guy who is quiet and appears to not have any friends. But Annabel and Owen’s friendship starts in an unusual way when he reaches out his hand to help her while she is sick one day in school. After that moment their friendship starts blossoming between the guy that is really honest and between the girl that is scared to say the truth to protect everybody else.

“So you’re always honest,” I said.
“Aren’t you?”
“No,” I told him. “I’m not.”
“Well, that’s good to know, I guess.”
“I’m not saying I’m a liar,” I told him. He raised his eyebrows. “That’s not how I meant it, anyways.”
“How’d you mean it, then?”
“I just…I don’t always say what I feel.”
“Why not?”
“Because the truth sometimes hurts,” I said.
“Yeah,” he said. “So do lies, though.”

I loved Owen. I fell in love with him. He was just so amazing in every way from his view of music:

“Music is a total constant. That’s why we have such a strong visceral connection to it, you know? Because a song can take you back instantly to a moment, or a place, or even a person. No matter what else has changed in your or the world, that one song says the same, just like that moment.”

to him hating silence : “Silence is so freaking loud”.

I liked Annabel but I felt sad for her holding all of that hurt and past :

“The past did affect the present and the future, in ways you could see and a million ones you couldn’t. Time wasn’t a thing you could divide easily; there was no defined middle or beginning or end. I could pretend to leave the past behind, but it would not leave me.”

I liked her sisters and how they each reunited and forgave each other.

This book was just beautiful. I loved it and it just taught me this :

“Don’t think or judge, just listen.”

 

See it in : http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/11014315-audrey-hepburn

Also the picture is from my friend Ari

3 thoughts on “Review of Just Listen

  1. Amazing review! I have heard a lot about Sarah Dessen’s books but never read them. I do plan to, though! I want to read one of her books even more because of this review.
    (p.s. You might want to credit Ari @ Reading At Midnight for the use of the picture 🙂 )

    Like

  2. Love your review as well! Just Listen and the Truth About Forever are my favorite Sarah Dessen books – she’s an amazing author and her characters come alive every time.

    Like

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

