Book Review: Women of Words: A Personal Introduction to Thirty-Five Important Writers

TitleWomen of Words: A Personal Introduction to Thirty -Five  Important Writers

Author(s): Janet Bukovinsky Teacher(Editor), Jenny Powell ( Illustrator)

My Rating:4 out of 5 stars

First Copyright Date: September 1st 1996

Publisher:Running Press Book Publishers ,Hardcover, 176 pages

Short Summary: “Women of Words” celebrates the best of women’s writing from the last two centuries. Featuring 35 extraordinary writers, including Mary Wollstonecraft, Toni Morrison, Willa Cather, and Edith Wharton, this elegant treasury presents carefully selected excerpts from each woman’s writings. A concise biography and original, full-color portrait accompany each profile.

My Thoughts:
I received Women of Words when I was young and it really didn’t interest me that much just because I don’t read these types of books that are like biographies. BUT I decided to give this book a chance and I actually liked it. Its a book about  35 amazing writers from the most known : Anais Nin, Jane Austen, Emily Bronte, Virginia Wolf to the less well  known: Elizabeth Gaskell, Edith Sitwell, Stevie Smith, M.F.K. Fisher, and Edna O’Brien. There isn’t much to say about the book really. You open the book to a writer and it gives you a brief story of their lives and how they came to be writers then a portrait of them, and a short expert from a book they wrote or a poem they wrote. Here is an example:
2013-04-15 19.49.36.jpg
You cant see it that well but that is a portrait of Anais Nin and to the left is the brief story of her life and the year she was born and the year she died.
However it was a very lovely book and I learned about authors I didn’t even know excited. I read this almost everyday and enjoy it very much. The portraits inside are very detailed and lovely and I was surprised at some of these women’s secret lives. If you ever get the chance to read it I assure you, you will enjoy it.
Here is( I think) a better picture of the book cover:
2013-04-15 19.48.47.jpg
See it in my Goodreads
Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

