The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott: Review

Title: The Unwritten Rule

Author: Elizabeth Scott

My Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

First Copyright Date: March 16th 2010

Publisher: Simon Pulse

Short Summary:Everyone knows the unwritten rule: You don’t like your best friend’s boyfriend.

Sarah has had a crush on Ryan for years. He’s easy to talk to, supersmart, and totally gets her. Lately it even seems like he’s paying extra attention to her. Everything would be perfect except for two things: Ryan is Brianna’s boyfriend, and Brianna is Sarah’s best friend.

Sarah forces herself to avoid Ryan and tries to convince herself not to like him. She feels so guilty for wanting him, and the last thing she wants is to hurt her best friend. But when she’s thrown together with Ryan one night, something happens. It’s wonderful… and awful.

Sarah is torn apart by guilt, but what she feels is nothing short of addiction, and she can’t stop herself from wanting more…

Everyone knows the unwritten rule: You don’t like your best friend’s boyfriend. 

description

Wow! The Unwritten Rule was just… awesome! Five Stars all the way! 

I checked it out from the library yesterday and finished it yesterday. I was unable to put it down. It was a work of magic. It was WAY better than Something Like Fate by Susane Colasanti which is a much similar story. Mostly because of the way it was written and because it was much more realistic. Some topics I thought this book was about: friendship, family problems, school, self-esteem, beauty,mostly the past, and of course liking your best friend’s boyfriend.

So here is Sarah ( the main character):

description

Sarah is plain, boring, and has no social life whatsoever. She is kind and shy and is always defending others.She has really awesome parents. She isn’t popular or gorgeous like her best friend Brianna. She is always bossed around by Brianna and does everything Brianna tells her to do even if she doesn’t want to. Every boy she likes likes Brianna.

“I’m always the one who doesn’t have a date, the one guys walk up to and say, “So, is your friend, you know, with someone?” and I may not be the only girl without someone, but it feels like it sometimes. A lot of the time.”

Well, there is an exception…She has liked this guy since the eight grade… But she keeps reminding herself she can’t do that. Its wrong…

“love is…you get confused and you do stuff you don’t mean to do-and you just-you hate yourself and sometimes you don’t even want to love the person you do because it would be so much easier if you didn’t. But you just-you just do.”

So then there is Brianna(the second main character):

description

Brianna, Brianna. She is a gorgeous girl. Popular since the seventh grade…

“I knew from Brianna that being beautiful wasn’t all great. Brianna had changed in middle school. One day we were both seventh graders and the next, she was a supermodel who had a seventh grader for a best friend.” 

Brianna is used to guys drooling over her and looking at her body. She is used to being the one who has always had boyfriends and dates. But she also has problems in her house. Her parents are getting divorced and her dad doesn’t want to see her ever again. Her mom is too busy for her and barely in their house. Her mom is constantly reminding Brianna to fix her hair or to not eat junk food and stay skinny or to just be Perfect. So whenever she goes to Sarah’s house she just reminds Sarah of the perfect parents she has and that she wishes they were her parents. She also say things that hurt people but she doesn’t mean to say it in a way that would hurt them(at least she says that). And she reminds Sarah almost everyday that she should fix her hair or this and that and that Brianna is the one who will always have the guys. I mean what kind of fucking best friend is that!!??

So then there is Ryan(the boyfriend):

description

“Imagine a guy. He’s a little taller than you, with perfect skin, skin that just screams “touch me!” and dark hair and gorgeous blue eyes and he looks so sweet and he is sweet. And then have him blush a little.”

Ryan is the guy any girl would want. He is really sweet, cute, nice, and perfect for Sarah. He’s easy to talk to, super smart, and totally gets her.He is everything Sarah has ever wanted and lately it even seems like he’s paying extra attention to her. Except…

That in a summer party Sarah see’s Ryan and from the little eight grader weirdo he used to be he tuned into a gorgeous guy. They immediately start to talk and its obvious they are attracted to each other. But Brianna comes in and when she sees him, well, he’s HOT and has changed. So Brianna being who she is comes and swipes him away and all hopes are lost for Sarah. And Ryan is Brianna’s boyfriend.

“I liked him first, but it doesn’t matter. I still like him. That doesn’t matter either. Or at least, it’s not supposed to.”

So in a party one night Ryan and Sarah are thrown together and sparks fly. They have a hot moment kissing and enjoying it. But they stop and they both know it was wrong but they don’t regret it and Sarah can’t forget that night.

“And then we kiss. It is a universe long, an eternity of his mouth moving softly against mine, slow exploration that makes my insides burn, and I want to get lost in it, in him, and never come back.”

description

“I wish it had never happened because then I wouldn’t think about it as I’m falling asleep.”

Sarah forces herself to avoid Ryan and tries to convince herself not to like him. She feels so guilty for wanting him, and the last thing she wants is to hurt her best friend. So then to makes things worst Brianna one day drags Sarah to Ryan’s house to a study date or whatever and when Brianna is gone for a while Ryan and Sarah kiss again. Twice this time.

” When he kisses me, everything stops. I don’t know how much time passes, I don’t know if the universe passes us by, if it decays and dies and is born again, because everything is his mouth on mine, my mouth on his, the feel of him pressed against me, shoulders, chest, legs, and it’s so much but not enough. I want to crawl inside what’s happening. I want it burned in my brain to always remember. I am stretched up on tiptoe, straining to meet him, and then he pulls me closer, hands wrapping around me, lifting me up, and he is holding me, his mouth on mine.” 

description

And then Ryan and Sarah have a serious conversation and he decides to break up with Brianna. And what comes is the most shocking thing ever…

I really liked Sarah. Yes she was kind of weak and didn’t really defend herself but she was a girl who suffered a lot.She had a really sad past and present days. Her best friend Brianna didn’t really appreciate her the way she should and the only guy(Brianna’s ex-boyfriend) that Sarah thought liked her was just using her to get back again with Brianna. I felt really sad for her.She was like the wallflower. And then happy that Ryan who always liked Sarah came and decided to be with her.

“I know who I want to be with, and it isn’t her.
– Ryan” 

description

I hated Brianna. I mean HATED her with all my heart. I don’t care that she has problems and her parents don’t appreciate her. Or that she is gorgeous and all that shit. She was a mean fucking bitch and she didn’t need to make Sarah feel so sad and bad. And I can’t believe the way she treated Sarah when she found out that Ryan and her were together. That was an ugly part of the book. I just wanted to go in and slap her myself. Here is (view spoiler). Well you can see how horrible Brianna is. I mean who the hell does she think she is?

I loved Ryan. He was very sweet and the boy you have always wanted to have as a boyfriend. He loves art and understands Sarah. He was just different and defended Sarah all the time. I just wanted to be Sarah.

Sarah deserved a guy like Ryan. They deserved to be together.

description

I loved Sarah’s parents. They were really nice, funny and loving. They were always there for Sarah and understood her. They were true parents and the parents anybody would want.

In the end Sarah tries to fix her friendship with Brianna but she learns that she doesn’t need Brianna in her life anymore. And she realizes has Ryan with her now.

description

“All the things I’ve thought about love are true. It’s beautiful and terrible and it doesn’t make things perfect. It ends things, and it brings beginnings.

This is mine.” 

Elizabeth Scott did an awesome job with this book. This was the first book I read from her and it was beautiful. I mean really beautiful. And heartbreaking. I loved the end. It ended with that quote just above.

I look forward to reading more books by Elizabeth Scott and can’t wait.She deserves LOTS of round of applause.

description

“I’m broken, I have cut myself wide open. I can see my heart and it is not what I believed it was, it is not good and kind and all the things I have always thought I am.” 

description

One thought on “The Unwritten Rule by Elizabeth Scott: Review

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

