Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz (book review)

 Title: Teeth

 Author: Hannah Moskowitz

 Hardcover,288 pages

 Published by: Simon Pulse

 Date published: January 1st, 2013

  Its been a WHILE since I have written a review, so here we go…

Moskowitz has a way of writing books that leave you amazed, hunted,shocked,heartbroken…and in love. This is the first time I have read any books by her and I wanted to give it a try.

When I finished reading Teeth I was like:
description

and:

description

Teeth is about a boy named Rudy who has moved to an island full of magical fish that can cure any diseases. The reason why is because his brother has a disease. His life so far is miserable and horrible. He hates it there. But he reminds himself that this is for his brother. He has to be strong for his brother. Of course Rudy always thinks about his past life and what he wishes to do. One day he meets Diana. She is a smart girl who loves to read books. He is not sure if he loves her or he is with her for just simple pleasure but he likes her company. He meets her mother who has a dark secret. Then the day comes when he meets Teeth. An ugly half-fish half-human boy. Teeth is unlike anything Rudy has seen and met. Even better than his friends back home. As Rudy starts meeting Teeth secrets start to reveal. Dark and horrible secrets. Each day that passes Rudy starts feeling better and happier. Until one day something horrible happens and Rudy must choose and decide between Teeth and all that he has known.

Well when I started reading Teeth I thought to myself “Wow, this is unlike anything I have ever read. Its dark,hunting, sad, and funny at the same time.” Teeth is a hard book. Not in the sense that its hard to understand it but in the sense of the emotions it makes you feel and the things that happens in the book. Its a very strong book. It will make you feel horrible and happy at the same time. Understand? Teeth is a really interesting book and its very good written. It captures your attention from the moment you see the cover until you have finished the book. I couldn’t put the book down. I have to say that when you read Teeth you feel(at least I felt) like you were right there inside the book. I felt like Rudy. I felt like I was Rudy. Wait…no, I felt like if I was every character in the book. I just don’t know how to explain. It just felt alive,real,beautiful…

As of right now I don’t know what to rate the book. My emotions are mixed and I still feel shocked. I didn’t like that there were so many curse words. This is honestly, the first book I have read that the word fuck has been repeated over five times in one sentence. The word fuck was extremely used all the time. But that didn’t make me stop reading the book. Teeth has something enchanting that just pulls you inside the book and you are just living every page. The ending was just… 😦 😦 😦

I don’t recommend this books to everyone. Its strong and not everyone might like it. Its a very original book. I hope you decide to read it soon.

“If this were a fairy tale, this would be the part where the fish boy appears and Diana shoots him through the heart. Because he is a tragic hero, he’s our fucking Gatsby, and he lived for his fish and he has to die for his fish. He would never let my fake authority, condoning his abandonment, making up rules about what’s okay just to save his life, convince him to give up his family. He would never leave.
He would know that without him, none of us will be as good. Me, without a friend; and the fish, without a brother; and the island, without a story; and Diana, without her something real, we will all be a little bit less than we were before we knew him.
So he wouldn’t leave. Not until I could come with him. And I have never been less able to leave than I am now.
But this isn’t a fairy tale, and he doesn’t appear. We stand here for a long time.
He really left.
Because it was all that we could do.” 

6 thoughts on “Teeth by Hannah Moskowitz (book review)

  1. “I was every character in the book. I just don’t know how to explain. It just felt alive,real,beautiful…” Beautifully said!

    I am so glad that you enjoyed this book! It’s one of my favorites and left a huge impact on me… And yes, that ending was just 😦 😦 😦 (add a few hundred more frowney faces for the full effect)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Teeth Reviews · WWW.BEAUTYSKI.COM

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

