The Quotes for today! Oscar Wilde

Just wanted to add this one 😀

Oscar Wilde said some pretty great things all which have touched me in a way:

This quote I sometimes find hard to accomplish since I want to fit in with everyone. Then I remember that I must be me and no one else will be me. And people will either like me for who I am or dislike me for being me. All that matters is that I was me all the time.

________________________________________________________________

How true isn’t it? So many things that are popular and known for the wrong reasons. Things that are popular and you ask yourself: will that person or that object ever change anyone’s life?

________________________________________________________________

What about this one? Tell me about that one….

________________________________________________________________

This one made me laugh 😀

________________________________________________________________

*Sighs* Oscar Wilde gets me doesn’t he? 🙂

________________________________________________________________

What do you think about these quotes? Can you relate to any of them? Just comment below what you think! 🙂

Quotes © The Reading Girl

19 thoughts on “The Quotes for today! Oscar Wilde

  1. Oscar Wilde is one of my favourite authors.The man was so ahead of his time…
    Hmm,my favourite quotes from him are the lesser known ones – I opine that with so many people posting his well-known quotes on Facebook and Twitter to refer to an incident in their lives,these quotes lose much of their value in the end.(At least in my country people do so,and they don’t even know who Wilde was!!)

    I love: ”Nowadays everybody knows the price of everything but the value of nothing.” This is really true and really defines the time in which we’re living.

    ”I have nothing to declare except my genius”.Some associate this quote to him,while others don’t,but all the same,I love this quote.You don’t have to talk for your genius to be felt!

    And there’s one funny anecdote about Wilde that I also love.During a party,Oscar Wilde went to the balcony and saw Sarah Bernhardt,a famous actress,standing there.Wilde would ask her: ”Do you mind if I smoke?” .And Sarah would reply: ”Oscar,I don’t mind if you burn!” I love this play on words.Bernhardt’s wittiness,which evidently matched Wilde’s,was the reason why they were both friends and why Wilde wrote Salome for her.

    You should have a go at The Picture of Dorian Gray.I loved it,but I don’t know if you’ll do.There’s somebody called Lord Henry in the book who keeps saying witty things all throughout the book.It is he besides who said the line about value and price.

    Like

  2. Hey, what a great post. I really enjoyed these comments. Especially “Now a days people know the price of everything and the value of nothing.” and “To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all.”
    Thanks a ton.
    =)
    p.s. the first i wrote above reminds me of the post-modern reality we live in now-a-day.

    Like

  3. I am in LOVE with this collection of quotations! Back in the old days, before computers were common in the average home, I had a sheet of paper above my desk where I had typed out many of the quotes from the “masters.”

    Reading those gems lifted my spirits, unlocked some deep thinking and just made me feel good all over. You have given me an idea here, I am going to do it. I am going to copycat you and start my own picture collection with famous quotes that I love. Thank you so much for giving me this idea!! 😀

    Like

  4. I love the advice about “talk to a man as if he bored you”…I always seems to find guys talk to me more when I act like I don’t care and I ignore them. It’s intriguing,lol. Such an intelligent man!

    Like

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

