To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (review and what a wonderful book!)

Title: To Kill a Mockingbird

Author: Harper Lee

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Pages: 346

Date Published: July 11, 1960

Goodreads Summary: The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.


 

5 beautiful stars

description


Here is a story:

I was walking down an isle at a book store, surrounded by the beauty and smell of books. I wanted to be inspired and enter a whole other world that I yet needed to learn about.

I kept gliding, feeling the hard spines of the books. I kept reading and analyzing the titles, trying to listen to my heart. Trying to find the perfect book, when my fingers slowly stopped in one particular cover. Slowly and delicately both of my hands take the precious world written in pages out of its original space. My breath stops as I read the title:

To Kill A Mockingbird

Never knowing about such a book I became curios. Who would write such a book about killing mockingbirds?

“Mockingbirds don’t do one thing but make music for us to enjoy. They don’t eat up people’s gardens, don’t nest in corncribs, they don’t do one thing but sing their hearts out for us. That’s why it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” 

Yet as I read the summary I changed my mind and entered the world of the 1930s.

description

Where there is racism yet love. Where there is innocence yet maturity. Where a town that Jem and Scout thought was safe, was not so safe anymore. Where Atticus with his kind old ways taught me a lot.

I had at first understood nothing. But as I read this gemstone for a second time I understood this world that used to be and in some ways still exists. And I fell in love. 

Many readers don’t understand the message of this book. This classic that is full of reality. I did and I still do.

This book was amazing. The writing was simple yet it was powerful. It captured my attention completely. I think that in this review, you can feel my love towards it. It’s a whole life published in pages that has made me open my eyes and feel emotions I never felt.

“It was times like these when I thought my father, who hated guns and had never been to any wars, was the bravest man who ever lived. 

It is a book that should be read by everyone. Amazing and beautiful.

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view… Until you climb inside of his skin and walk around in it.”

 Book review © The Reading Girl

19 thoughts on “To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee (review and what a wonderful book!)

  1. My eldest daughter (17) has read this book. The students of Ireland will be tested on this book in their “Leaving Certificate exams” next month. That is where they leave secondary education in hope to gain a place in a university.
    She loved it also.
    I better read it next.
    Great review. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Walking in the Skin of Others | Brandon Dale Bowers' Blog

  3. Pingback: To Kill a Mockingbird, novel on racism in the USA | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

