My first Film Review (bear with me :) )

 May and the beginning of June have been awesome for me. I mentioned before why May was the best month ever and so far it has been the best month ever. Now June is also turning into that month.

One of the things that has made June awesome so far is The Fault in Our Stars movie.

Now, before you start rolling your eyes or whatever you will do, hear me out and if you are interested read my thoughts about this movie.


I have always been a fan of John Green. No, it’s not because I read The Fault in Our Stars. It’s because I read Looking for Alaska. Well, when I heard The Fault in Our Stars came out about two years ago I was excited. I don’t get scared of reading any book, I do not care what it is about, I just want to enter a new world and learn more about it. So, when I heard it was about two kids who have cancer and fall in love I was intrigued. You can read the rest of my thoughts about this awesome book here: TFiOS book review. What I am trying to say is that, I love John Green and I have been a fan of his for four years.

Warning this part will be kind of off topic.

I get mad how people are “Fans” of his just because they have read TFiOS. His other books are great especially Looking for Alaska. But I have to admit that TFiOS IS his best book now. Anyways, I also get annoyed at everyone in my school who suddenly started reading TFiOS because it was going to be a movie or how all of a sudden they think they know everything about John Green or books because they read that book.

You get me?

Well let’s get to the Movie Review:

My thoughts on the film:

I saw this film in June 6th (day it came out in the US, with my friends) and I really liked it but I didn’t love it. You will see why, down below.

It is really good  and it is a very unique YA film. It is also the only film I have seen so far that has stayed true to a book. That made me really happy because that rarely ever happens. I did like the cinematography and the colors of the film. I really liked how they shot some of the scenes making you feel like you are part of the movie . I liked how they added little text messaging bubbles to the side when one couldn’t read a text message or email. I just loved how they made the film quick, simple, cute, and awesome. The way they portrayed Hazel’s room, Gus room, and Amsterdam was exactly how I imagined it. The colors of the movie were awesome and I LOVED how the actors said the same famous quotes that I LOVE. The acting was good and the script was great. Some things were obviously changed but it wasn’t a big deal.

Here is what I didn’t really like:

No film is ever perfect and this film was not perfect at all. The Fault in Our Stars is a great book and the movie is good. But there were somethings that really didn’t catch my attention.

Ansel Elgort as Augustus Waters:

I did not imagine him at all as Augustus Waters. Yeah, he is a bit cute and tall. But he is not SEXY at all. He did act good but his face did not match the way I imagined Augustus Waters.

Shailene Woodley’s as Hazel Grace Acting: 

I did imagine her as Hazel Grace BUT the way she acted…I thought she needed a bit more of something. I don’t know…she didn’t convince me.

The Soundtrack:

I LOVE to hear the soundtrack of the movie I am watching because those songs are supposed to make me feel an emotions towards the movie. Well…the songs in this movie were not that great. They didn’t really match what the fan or the one who is watching the movie is supposed to feel. They were Indie Rock and Pop songs. I LOVE Indie Rock and I hate Pop but these kinds of songs are not for this kind of movie. I expected something like Coldplay, Lana del Rey, The XX, or a soft song by Katy Perry (I hate pop but not her songs). I did LIKE the Ed Sheeran song “All of the Stars” but that’s about it.

Emotions:

I’m not saying I didn’t like the emotions. I’m saying I DIDN’T FEEL ANYTHING. When I read the book I literally felt depressed and cried a LOT:

But when the emotional parts came in the movie I felt a little ache but I didn’t sob like I expected I was going to do, like my friends and sister. That really disappointed me because I wanted to cry. It felt a bit rushed.

The Magic:

Even thought TFiOS book is simple it has this kind of magic that left you thinking about it for days. Well…this movie didn’t. Not that much anyways. I watched it, was very happy at how some of the movie turned out, thought about it, talked about it for an hour, and then that’s it.

Sex Scene:

Most of you don’t really care if a movie shows two people having sex. But, John Green didn’t describe the scene at all when he wrote the book. He literally just wrote, in Hazel’s point of view, that they kissed and had a kind of happy yet hard time. The next part was them waking up together. I didn’t like how they showed two minutes of them touching each other, Shailene taking her shirt off, then her bra, then her boob being shown a little, and then Ansel was shown touching the boob! Like literally squeezing the boob and everything. I didn’t think it was right considering there were nine-year old kids in the movie room. My friend’s and I were a bit surprised.

Final Thoughts:

The Fault in Our Stars was a good movie. I Liked it.The acting was good, the costume, places, and the chemistry between Ansel and Shailene was awesome. It was funny, romantic, and it was well made.

I do recommend people to watch it. Even old people were watching it and enjoyed it very much. Even though there were some things I didn’t like about the film, I am going to buy it when it comes out in DVD. It’s a fun, cute, romantic, sad, but good movie.

P.S.

The whole cinema place was literally FILLED with teenage girls and GUYS, lol. I thought it was so funny when one of the actors would mention a famous quote and every single girl (including me 🙂 ) would laugh and giggle.

And when the sad parts came EVERY girl was sobbing really loud! And when the movie was over some girls were just sitting on the chairs looking depressed.

You can imagine what I’m saying right?

It was crazy.

Final Rating:

8/10 stars

 

13 thoughts on “My first Film Review (bear with me :) )

    • you should see it..if you like cute, funny, romantic teenage stories.
      Sometimes I wonder how they feel watching themselves act and if they notice any little mistake they have done or if they could have fixed something. I know I hate watching myself after someone has recorded me. I feel weird.
      Anyways, glad you liked the review 🙂

      Like

  1. I’m still not sure, but I think I liked Looking for Alaska just a teensy bit more than the Fault in Our Stars. I really fell in love with all the characters, and it was just beautiful. Maybe since it was my first John Green book it’s branded in my mind as a mini miracle. But anyways, I went to see The Fault in our Stars today. I actually did cry, but not in the same parts that I cried in the book. It was interesting to see how the movie manipulated the emotional parts so that things that I read in the book that didn’t phase me had me bawling. Great review!

    Erin @ Raised Reading

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t watched the movie yet, but when it comes to the soundtrack, I have to say that I like it and that it fits perfectly to the book. I could imagine listening to these songs while reading the book and that would really fit and describe the atmosphere of the book. I think Lana del Rey or the XX are a bit too melancholic for that story. In my opinion, TFIOS didn’t have that exact melancholy, because it was described in this humorous tone all the time, despite of the serious topic. That’s why I think that light Indie-Rock and soft Pop songs are quite good fitting for this movie 🙂
    Oh, and I didn’t see Ansel perform, but I think that he fits well to Augustus Waters. If the actor would be too sexy, then it would be a little bit unrealistic. Ansel isn’t ugly, and he has a nice body as I could see form the pictures. I like it that the protagonists are displayed as teenagers with a usual appearance. So, everyone can relate to them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • you should see it when it comes out in Germany 🙂
      I understand what you mean about the soundtrack 🙂 But I kind of preferred sad songs and happy songs mixed together int the soundtrack instead of just happy songs 🙂 you know?

      I know 🙂 but I didn’t say Ansel was ugly. He is cute but he didn’t really reach my expectations of Augustus. He did act awesome though and I guess that’s why they chose him for the role.

      and they did look like teenagers and were great in their roles 🙂

      thanks for commenting.

      Like

  3. Since you have already read my review, I will add only this, on the soundtrack: in my opinion, the way to evaluate musical selections in film is to ask, “how did they impact this project?” And, in this particular movie, I believe they were used primarily as transitions between events, not as emotional manipulations. Which is smart: movies like this one already tiptoe on the edge of melodrama. Add emotional tricks aimed at MAKING us feel something and they instantly fall into that category, and then lose the majority of their would-be audience.

    Basically, I’m saying it is meritorious that the songs didn’t make you feel something, not disadvantageous.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did love this book a lot. But I am not saying its the best book out there. There are way better books out there than The Fault in Our Stars 🙂 I am sure of that and I have read them.

      Obviously people have been bragging a lot about it but it has its flaws. Its not the best book ever, believe me it is not and I am sure you know that.

      I gave it 8 stars because,like I said, its not this Awesome film that is to die for. Its good and its fun to watch but Its not one of the best films of the year. Anyways thanks for always commenting and visiting 🙂

      Yazmin

      Like

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

