The Heir(The Selection #4) Book Review

The Heir by Kiera Cass

Title: The Heir

Author: Kiera Cass

General Rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Pages: 342

Date Published: May 5th, 2015

Publisher:  Harper Teen

Summary: Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

__________________________________

 

“Didn’t they know who I was, what they’d trained me for? I was Eadlyn Schreave. No one was more powerful than me.
So if they thought I was going down without a fight, they were sadly mistaken.”

Okay….I usually do not rate books this low unless I have a reason to. And trust me, this book has given me a lot of reasons for me to rate it 2 stars.

description

so…I really liked the first 3 books of The Selection series. In my opinion I thought they were good. Sure they had their little flaws and annoying characters, but I liked the whole idea of the series. They are not amazing books but they are worth reading.

Then came The Heir. I was really excited to read this book. I mean its from the point of view of America and Maxon’s daughter. A whole new selection. Plus the cover caught my attention. I mean these covers are to die for.

But O MY GOD! I have never hated a main character so much. Eadlyn is nothing like America…

Here is an example:

What they didn’t understand was that their attempts to make my life fair seemed rather unfair to me.

When I read the first page of this book I kind of liked it because I thought:

Oh look…a girl who has the privilege to become Queen. To change the world, to make a difference, to defend women, to show the world that women can do anything, to be good to the people etc.

But no.

We get a girl who is a bitch. A girl who complains about how much work she has to do instead of appreciating the fact that she is Queen. And sure, being a queen is not an easy task but come on! Your parents changed the law for you. They changed everything for you! And you complain about not being normal or having no time for yourself.

Which is actually not true…but I am not going to spoil that.

Also, she is not good to the people. She is so absorbed in her own little world that she doesn’t even realize some of the problems around her. oh and she gets shocked when people confront her and tell her the truth.

Girl, if people keep telling you the same thing over and over again about your attitude its because of something.

They way she treats others is just horrible.

She treats her parents like shit.

she thinks anyone who is not royal is shit.

she reminds people that she is the future queen and she is powerful.

she manipulates people.

she treats the guys who came for the selection like total shit.

she is so selfishhhhh. I have never seen such a selfish character in my life.

she treats her maid like shit.

she thinks she is the most intelligent person in the world.

I could go on…but it isn’t worth it.

Eadlyn is not a kind princess…she is mean. Mean, bad, manipulative….
__________________________________

I feel like this review is disorganized…but that’s how this books was.

I felt like this book was just written to add another book to the series.

__________________________________

Eadlyn was boring..I get it..she didn’t want a selection. But this was something America and Maxon did to help the country. But no, she is so selfish she doesn’t even try to do anything in the selection to help the country or her parents.

I felt like the author used the word giggle so much. It annoyed the fuck out of me.

Eadlyn giggled. Amercia giggled. Maxon giggled. Josie giggled. Neena giggled. Everyone fucking giggled.

description

The writing was plain, the characters from the other three books were unrecognizable. What happened to the America and Maxon I knew? It was shocking.

The romance…if it can even be called romance…was horrible.

The ending was…I dont even have words for it.

And I felt as if the author was trying to demonstrate that Eadlyn was this independent strong girl. But she failed. Like big time.

Being an independent girl is not whining, manipulating others, thinking you are above others, etc.

Honestly, it tires me to write this review. Eadlyn ruined everything for me…and yes there were some great characters and some good moments but they were ruined by her and her attitude and thoughts.

She doesn’t get better as a character…she gets worse.

In short words all I can say is…I am disappointed. I was glad to have finished this  weird book.

And this review is probably crazy too but oh well.

My Goodreads review is here.

My new instagram

 

3 thoughts on “The Heir(The Selection #4) Book Review

Leave Your Words and Thoughts...Don't be Afraid. It Counts!

